Follow

Keep in contact through the following social networks or via RSS feed:

  • Follow on Facebook
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Follow on BookBub
  • Follow on GoodReads
  • Follow on Pinterest
Join my newsletter to stay informed and get a free, exclusive short story!
Subscribe
Now available for pre-order
Facebook
Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons

4 days ago

Clara Benson
Happy Valentines day! For those of you who dont do the hearts and flowers stuff, heres a card I spotted in a shop window the other week.

Happy Valentine's day! For those of you who don't do the hearts and flowers stuff, here's a card I spotted in a shop window the other week. ... See MoreSee Less

Comment on Facebook

That really ought to be a cat with that caption

Haha forwarding to not-always-so-dear husband

i agree-should be a cat. Dogs love us.

Love it!!😁😁

well put thank you

Perfect.

Cara Sanford It’s Flash! This would have been a perfect card for you to buy 🤣

How tolerant of you!

Ha!

View more comments

2 weeks ago

Clara Benson
Touch typists! Check carefully that your index fingers are on the f and the j before you hurl yourself gaily into the creative endeavour. Youre welcome.

Touch typists! Check carefully that your index fingers are on the f and the j before you hurl yourself gaily into the creative endeavour. You're welcome. ... See MoreSee Less

Comment on Facebook

Oh my the times I did that and as I typed at 118 words a minute a total nightmare. That’s way before computers!

Oh I hate when I do that 🥴

If I had the time, I could decipher that!

Ha! So easy to do.

So many times LOL

View more comments

3 weeks ago

Clara Benson

... See MoreSee Less

3 weeks ago

Clara Benson
Well, theres a thing. Ive been such a good girl that Bookouture are bringing forward the publication of my book by a month, to April 17th, with pre-order from today. Look at this beautiful cover theyve done for me! I am very excited.

(If anybody feels the mad urge to share this post, I will accept the gesture graciously - nay, heroically. 😁)

Well, there's a thing. I've been such a good girl that Bookouture are bringing forward the publication of my book by a month, to April 17th, with pre-order from today. Look at this beautiful cover they've done for me! I am very excited.

(If anybody feels the mad urge to share this post, I will accept the gesture graciously - nay, heroically. 😁)SUPER EXCITED this afternoon to reveal the cover and description of In Darkness, Look for Stars: An absolutely gripping, heartbreaking and epic World War 2 historical novel by Clara Benson. Out on 17th April, but available to pre-order now:
AMZ: geni.us/B0849VMQDNCover
Apple: buff.ly/31alKyi
Kobo: buff.ly/2GFHSan
Google: buff.ly/2u6F97h

Paris, 1941: The city is growing more dangerous by the day. Signs proclaiming ‘No Jews’ are posted everywhere in the maze-like streets, and people are dragged away in handcuffs.

Maggie Brouillard devotes herself to the Resistance, helping Jews escape. Though her life is a whirlwind of forged passports and midnight runs, she cannot stop thinking about her fiancé, who was forced to flee. She prays that the love of her life is safe, and sends coded, handwritten letters to her dear sister, Cécilia.

England, 1949: Harriet Conway arrives at grand, grey-stoned Chaffingham House to start her job as secretary. Home to the Brouillard family since they escaped Paris after the war, Chaffingham’s opulence has all but disappeared – its curtains faded, its carpets worn, tragedy hanging in the air…

Harriet is soon consumed by the mystery surrounding the family. The daughter, Cécilia, is confined to a wheelchair due to an accident they refuse to discuss and when a strange man turns up asking for Maggie, the door is slammed shut on him. Why won’t Cécilia look her son in the eye? Why will no one utter Maggie’s name?

It’s clear that Chaffingham is shrouded in secrecy, the family haunted by a past too shocking to speak of. And when Harriet stumbles upon a crumpled letter she uncovers something that will either repair a lifetime of heartbreak, or rip the family apart.

An evocative, riveting and stirring tale about the tragic realities of war, the fine line between loyalty and lies, and the power of love, even in the darkest of times. Fans of The Nightingale, The Letter and All the Light We Cannot See will be spellbound by this magnificent historical novel.
... See MoreSee Less

Comment on Facebook

Thanks for the good wishes, everyone!

Judy Obst

Congratulations, Clara! This is thrilling indeed. The cover is amazing and the write up of the book very compelling. A must read for sure 😊

Huge congrats!! You have no idea how much I love WW2 books - and now from one of my favourite authors too, yay! (Yes, you can graciously blush now.) Look forward to reading it!! And look how many exclamation marks I'm cramming in just one post!! xx

Ordered! Can’t wait.

How wonderful. I have just ore ordered it. Thank you!

Gorgeous! Congrats!!

It sounds amazing. I will definitely be buying 😁

gorgeous!

...and I have just ordered 😁😁😁

Can't wait to read it xx

Beautiful

Can’t wait.

Ordered

Congratulations!!🍾🎉🎈 can’t wait!

Preordered it. Can’t wait to read it!

View more comments

3 weeks ago

Clara Benson
This is pretty flashy.

This is pretty flashy.Jean Bugatti, engineer and designer standing next to his Bugatti Royale, one of seven built. Jean was the oldest son of Ettore Bugatti, the founder of Bugatti. Photograph taken in 1932. Credit: DangerDegan ... See MoreSee Less

Comment on Facebook

I'm going to come right out and say I think it's about time plus fours came back into fashion.

Adrian Marchant

I love the look of plus fours and Argyle socks. Really great look.

I love classic Bugatti cars. So stylish!

I would love a ride in this automobile!!💖

Here I thought plus fours referred to a pedigreed dog or thoroughbred horse: the standard plus four for the upper crust!

Touring car? Eye catching...I’d love to ride in it. Looks like it’s a four seater.

Love the car. If you wandered round a few golf courses, you will find plus fours on some of the golfers! Xxx

I love that car.

I hope the car came with a booster seat.

And I even like the colour....gorgeous!

Love the car

What a fabulous vehicle. Plus fours can stay away ( in my opinion).

Is that car extra large...or is Jean petite.

Magnificent

Pretty!

View more comments

News from Clara

A Case of Suicide in St. James’s is now available in audiobook, with fantastic narration by Gethyn Edwards. Listen to a sample and check it out here.

 

Stay Social

You can keep in touch with Clara on the following social media sites:

 

Where to Buy Clara's Books
  • Buy from Apple Books
  • Buy at Amazon.com
  • Buy from Barnes and Noble
  • Buy from Google Play
  • Buy from Kobo
  • Buy from Audible